Goodbye, Alexander McQueen

“Inspired by Charles Darwin’s theory of evolution, it was divided into two parts: the first was based on nature.. The second part took its reference from the industrial revolution and the harm that man has done to the world since. McQueen wanted to demonstrate how fragile the planet is, and his use of the stuffed animals was to underscore the fact that perhaps these may be the only animals left for our grandchildren to see.”

***

Only since 2006 have I learned about Alexander McQueen and his twistedly beautiful creations. I found out that he was the favorite designer of myfavorite ANTM model at that (naive) moment, and when I first saw his designs, I knew instantly that they were artworks made with heart. His works are where fashion and arts collide; surprising and dramatic, often stating historical, political, or environmental issues.

A dearfriend of mine once said, “We tend to idolize people with qualities we may still lack. The fact that they possess something we desire is the reason why we are drawn to them”.

Which I find so true in this case. I always go gaga everytime seeing his works, be it the ready to wear or haute couture collections. Although his designs may be too bizarre for some people, I say weird is good. If only I was a talented genius with such insane creativity like him…

“But everybody has their own demons, no matter how talented, famous, or successful they are. And those who can fight them are lucky.”-source

The world has lost one talented artist/designers, and he is the one that actually lit a fire inside my soul. To see him or at least attend his show was a promise I made to myself. But now that he’s gone, I am truly out of words 😥

Goodbye McQueen, thanks for being such an inspiration to us.

Leave a Reply

