What I don’t envy

I envy the butterflies, flitting guiltlessly, from one pretty flower to another.

I envy the raindrops, falling freely, without the slightest fear of the powerful gravity.

I envy the happy old lady, selling crops and seeds with a smile, certain that God won’t leave her even just for a while.

I envy the children running along, laughing as loud as they might, telling stories with nothing to imply.

I envy the moonlight, the sunlight, how generous they are to share rays of life, without any grudge holding them from giving their all.

And I envy the hearts, who still trust even though they’ve been crushed.
The forgiving smiles even though betrayals have damaged them much.
The hopes in their eyes, as if nothing can shatter their beliefs, as if nothing is ever worth their over grief.

I don’t envy kisses and cuddles, only portrayed to hide the emptiness inside.
Or owning acquaintances who exist and persist in the hopes that people realize and want to be part of the disguise.
I don’t envy companions, prides, degrees, statuses, accomplishments that are nothing but shiny, polished misery.
Exhibited only to conceal what soul really lies underneath.

For this year, for this new year… I wish to achieve the essence of what I envy still, and be avoided from things that I never will.

So here we are taking our bow, hopefully with knowledge in our head and wisdom in our eye,
Welcoming the beginning of you, and gladly waving 2009 goodbye.

**


3 thoughts on “What I don’t envy

  1. .. but you have to remember one thing my dear, while you envy to another, there’s somebody outhere that’s also envy you πŸ˜‰

    For this year, for this new year… I wish to achieve the essence of what I envy still, and be avoided from things that I never will.

    so do I 😦 but I realize that life is like a pendulum. one moment, it swings towards favourable conditions we could receive heartily. but another moment, it swings towards unfavourable conditions which we desperately avoid.

    So here we are taking our bow, hopefully with knowledge in our head and wisdom in our eye.

    amin πŸ™‚

    p.s:
    do you have facebook account? or messenger in yahoo? well, it would be glad if we can share such things ^-^

  2. Thanks for the thoughtful comment, this was some kind of a reminder not to focus on the surface all the time..what the eyes can see is sometimes not even half the reality.. & jadi orang jgn tinggi hati hihi..

    Boleh2.. Why don’t u email me ur YM ID via my blog email:
    email_kuchikuchi@yahoo.com and I’ll add you..
    Okay? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

