“I can’t help it, it’s in my genes!”

Life consists not simply in what heredity and environment do to us but in what we make out of what they do to us.
~Harry Emerson Fosdick

I notice that most of us tend to be so critically apathetic when it comes to inherited habits or personalities:

“My mom is in anger management therapy, there is nothing I can do about my short temper!”

or…

“My dad robs banks. No wonder I always have this urge to steal and commit crime.”

It’s so easy to blame it on the genes. It’s exact science, it’s unquestionable: dominant-recessive alleles, Mendelian inheritance, crossing over and genetic recombination, yada yada yada. If you’re any different than what you’re “supposed” to be, then you are simply one freaky mutant.

The truth is, I believe in Science (like duh?), and I believe there is always a scientific explanation behind everything in life. I believe in genetics and all other theories those mad scientists had successfully proven. Only this time let’s try to see it on the bright side. Put on your coolest shades, guys! Because this kind of bright may be potentially irritating.. =D

**

Let’s start from the (late) grandparents on Mom’s side..

1. My grandpa is such an idol for me. I only knew him for 2 years of my life and I think it’s better that way: I now picture him as a perfect, flawless role model figure. He once said that he didn’t want to live too long and become a burden to his family, it’s enough for him to live as long as Prophet Muhammad  , and at the exact age of 63 did he pass away. A very nice person, warm, wise, and generous. Everyone who talks about him to this day only speaks about his qualities, all the good memories. He’s a good communicator with incredible interpersonal skills. Successful in work life, family life, and good at maintaining relationships with people: friends and relatives.

2. My grandma was the perfect figure of a housewife. She doesn’t talk unnecessarily; a dedicated wife, mother, and teacher. Her students still remember her to this day. A great cook. Soft spoken and patient.

3. My mom is today’s version of a Super Mom. The best pep-talker in the world. Reliable driver. Stress-free all the time: she spares her mind to help people solve their problems and give inputs, because everybody needs her. People with problems always look for her, maybe that’s why she’s “destined” to have no problems of her own. Very friendly to everybody, independent, and fun to be with.

4. My dad is what keeps me motivated. A typical hard worker, and I know he always wants the best for me and my future (I love you, Dad!). Very committed and focused. Organized and well-plannedFaithfulReligious. Clever and determined. I promised myself that I will get an academic degree as advanced as his (or maybe more), and he inspires me with all his achievements.

5. My grandma is pretty. She was friendly and accepting. I don’t know much about her but she had long hair, nice skin and thick eye brows. Hehe..

6. My grandpa is a survivor. He’s survived so many unimaginable things in life, and has a very good health. He still reads now at his late 90s. He remembers things clearly and still speaks clearly as well. Did I mention that he’s almost 100 years old?

7. My aunts from Mom’s side are all strong, independent women who are happily married with adorable kids. They are specialized with their own fields of talents and skills. Architecture, accounting, environmental engineering, you name it.

8. My uncles from Dad’s side are all successful workers. They all had spent their lives studying or working overseas, they speak English, and are well educated. None of them were born wealthy.

**

So… those are my good genes and “destiny” (Amin ya Allah!)

What are yours? 🙂

2 thoughts on ““I can’t help it, it’s in my genes!”

Leave a Reply

